The Cocomatchasaurus (aka Raw Coconut and Matcha Brownie)

Some of us have a sweet tooth. Others of us less so.

Some of us like to run around a park every day and squat until we can squat no longer. Others of us less so.

Wouldn’t it be ideal if there was such thing as a healthy yet delicious creation? Don’t worry folks, I’ve got this one…

The inspo (yes, I used that word) came when I visited one of my favourite tea rooms, Kanuka, which is situated in the heart of Saint Albans. On offer (and snaffled up by myself) was a matcha energy bomb pictured below.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cue me trying to be arty with my elderflower white tea, spectacles and my matcha energy bomb 😎

Yummy as it was, I’ve been intrigued by matcha creations. For those who didn’t get the chance to read my previous blog post, it’s become my new tea toy.

With thanks to Bluebird Tea Co, awaited a recipe which was just up my street. Something easy. Especially given it was my turn to provide a dessert for our weekly house dinner and I’d ran out of time to make a panna cotta…

Enter,Β The Raw Matcha and Coconut Brownie

Which I happen to have namedΒ The Cocomatchasaurus.

Anyway, here’s all you need to feed some hungry mouths without too much guilt.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here are the ingredientsΒ used ^Β Unfortunately, I’d been on one too many trips to Waitrose by this point that I’d forgotten to include the matcha itself *face palm*.

For the brownie base:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup walnuts
  • 1 cup dates
  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil
  • 3 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract

For the topping:

  • 1 & 1/2 cups desiccated coconut
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 2 tablespoons melted coconut oil
  • 1 teaspoon matcha powder of choice (I used Heapwell Superfoods’ matcha)
  • 1 tablespoon of honey
  • decoration: melted dark (vegan) chocolate

The creative process

  1. Blend, blend, blend all the base ingredients in a food processor until its sticky and if you’re using a hand blender like I was, until you can blend no more!
  2. Tip out and press the mixture into a baking tin with your fingers
  3. Place in the fridge while you make the topping
  4. Blend, blend, blend those topping ingredients in a food processor / using a hand blender until you really cannot blend anymore!
  5. Tip out the base as before
  6. Chill in the fridge for at least 4 hours and have a chill yourself
  7. Remove from the fridge, melt the dark chocolate and drizzle on top. I used a fork and some artistic wizardry to do this
  8. The most important part, enjoy πŸ™‚

matcha bownies process

For those of us who are visual learners, some process pics to help out ^

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And some of the finished product…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The tasters’ testimonials were really inventive…

“Brownie and tea is the perfect match(a)”

“lesser known to an ordinary tastebud”

Whereas others were more to the point…

“Very, very good”

“How can something so healthy taste this good?”

The Cocomatchasaurus was a summer sweet success! What are your favourite no bake treats? How did your matcha brownies turn out?

For more tea and recipe inspo, be sure to check out The Tea Cup of LifeΒ who is doing a grand job of blogging with tea over the pond in Canada. In particular, her June round up where my last postΒ I met my Matcha features. Thanks for the positiviTEA!

 

 

Leave a Reply

